ISPA 2016 Winners Announced

March 19, 2016

The Internet Services Providers’ Association announced at its annual awards ceremony held on 14th March 2016 who the winners were in the different categories announced earlier this year.

The yearly awards are based on nominations by the companies themselves which are then cut down to a top five in each category founded on performance testing by Epitiro, with the ultimate decision made by a panel of industry experts.

Best Consumer ISP- Plusnet

Best Consumer Broadband- NewNet

Best Business Broadband -Datanet

Best Business ISP -Eclipse Internet

Best Wireless ISP -Vodafone

Best Consumer Email -Entanet

Best Business Email -Eclipse

Best Dial-up -Waitrose

Best Internet Telephony -Entanet

Best Shared Hosting -Namesco

Best Dedicated Hosting- UKFast

Best Streaming -Astream

Best Portal -BT Yahoo

Three additional awards where the winner is selected by the ISPA council.

The Internet Watch Foundation (IWF) Award: Given to Richard Swetenham – Head of the eContent and Safer Internet Unit at the European Commission for his participation with the issue of Internet content since 1996, drafting the first Communication on illegal and harmful Internet content. He has been the driving force behind a variety of very successful EC Safer Internet Programmes, in particular the development of the INHOPE association of Hotlines.

The Internet Hero Award: Given to Peter Robbins OBE QPM, Chief Executive, IWF for his continued leadership of the IWF and approach to fostering extensive partnerships with the Internet industry, the government and law enforcement agencies to tackle illegal online content.

The Internet Villain Award: Went to HM Revenue and Customs (HMRC for failing to take the protection of peoples’ personal data seriously and highlighting bad practice in protecting data by losing computer disks containing confidential details of 25 million child benefit recipients.


Related Posts

Create Account

Log In Your Account